Freshman Year

Freshman Year has been a huge learning experience for me. I have learned to walk on the right side of the hallway but in all seriousness I have learned that change is good, try new things and work hard. Most of my free time I spend either on the soccer field, volleyball court or tennis court and on top of that, I have to balance all my schoolwork. Most of the times I go from sport to sport and then straight to working on homework. My schedule is pretty busy, but it has taught me how to manage my time and to not procrastinate.

Every since I was little sports has had a huge impact on my life. The first sport that I play is soccer. I have been playing soccer for a very long time and I have developed a love and passion for this sport. Whenever I step on the field, all my worries and stress go away. Also, my soccer team is like a second family to me, it is nice knowing that they will always have my back and support me in difficult times. This year my club team got second place in our league but only lost to the first place team by a few points. I am really proud of how much we have improved this season and I am looking forward to beating the first place team in state cup!

File_000 (21).jpeg

 

As for my first high school soccer season, it was truly a memorable and exciting year. I had the opportunity to meet and play with upperclassmen and all of them were really nice and made the year unforgettable. Not only did I improve on my game physically but it also improved my mental game and the love I have for this sport. The season was so much fun and looking back it is hard letting it go but, I am looking forward to next year!

File_000 (22).jpeg

 

This is my first year playing club volleyball and I have absolutely loved every second of it! I have created close relationships with people I never knew at the start of the season. In a short amount of time, I have improved tremendously on my skills and I have created close relationships with new people. At first I never really knew what to expect because it was kind of a last minute decision and I haven’t been able to play volleyball in a while because soccer is the same season. Club is a lot more intense than middle school volleyball so in order to play up to their level I had to put 110% into everything I did. Our last volleyball tournament is this Sunday and I am sad to see the season go.

File_000 (9).jpeg

 

In a short amount of time, I have developed this new love for tennis. I never thought at the beginning of the year that this is a sport I want to focus on but now I want to improve and eventually be on varsity. I have been given the opportunity to practice with the varsity when matches are rained out or when we are unable to practice on the courts. The varsity coach usually only takes varsity to this indoor tennis court but he has decided to also take me and another JV player. It has been a great learning experience for me to watch these great tennis players and be able to learn from them and the coach. I still have a lot to learn, but I have already learned a lot in a short amount of time so I am confident that I will eventually play at a higher level.

File_000 (19).jpeg

 
Overall, my freshman year at high school has mainly consisted of sports and school. Not only am I improving at the sports I play but I am also learning important life skills and leadership characteristics. I have also learned that no matter what school comes before sports. With being a student athlete I have to do well in school and be able to be there for my sports team. I can proudly say that so far in my first semester of high school I have received a 4.0 GPA, and I intend to keep my grades up and also challenge myself academically. Therefore, next year I am taking two AP classes and two Pre-AP classes. My schedule will be even busier next year but as long as I manage my time and do not procrastinate, I am confident that I will be successful next year.

Leave a Reply

